What is your hope for the church?

This morning I got an email from a friend at Christianity Today.  He wanted to let me (and others) know about an interesting question the recently re-branded “media ministry” is asking its reader: What is your hope for the church? Despite how often I think about this sort of question, it took me a few minutes to land on an answer.  Here’s what I wrote on the website:

My hope for the church in the USA is that we would demonstrate the ministry of reconciliation committed to us by God in Jesus: “that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them.” (2 Corinthians 5) I hope especially that our reconciliation to God would prove greater than every earthly division that currently separates the body of Christ. In a deeply divided world, our unity across race, ethnicity, class, immigration status, etc. will exhibit a unity that powerfully witnesses to the Gospel. (John 17:20-21)

This is a magazine I’ve appreciated for many years and to which I’ve occasionally contributed. It sometimes feels directed primarily to white, suburban Christians, but there seems to be a conscious desire to represent more widely the great diversity of evangelically-minded Christians.

The first 1,000 people who contribute a response to this question will receive a free subscription to Christianity Today magazine, so get on it!  And be sure to leave a comment here with a link to your answer.

2 responses to “What is your hope for the church?”

  1. David,
    What you express above is what I found at New Community. It attracted me into church after a 25 year absence, and continues to cause the gospel to resonate like it never did in my earlier church experience.

    Byron

  2. David,

    Thanks for taking the time to think about and share your hope for the church with your readers. As always, thoughtful, challenging, and definitely something we all need to strive for.

Leave a comment